|    Join     |    Donate    |   Store    |   About NAMS
Facebook TwitterYouTubeLinkedinRSS

Award & Scholarship Nominations


The deadline to submit nominations has now passed.

Winners will be notified by July 15, 2019.

NAMS Recognition Awards

 These recognition awards provide recipients with

  • Complimentary registration to the 2019 NAMS Annual Meeting
  • Commemorative display plaque
  • Invitation to a private reception with the NAMS Board of Trustees, members of the 2019 Awards Committee, those who nominated the recipients, and past Board Members on Thursday, September 26, from 7:15 PM8:15 PM  

1. NAMS/Thomas Clarkson Outstanding Clinical and Basic Science Research Award

This award will recognize a NAMS member’s outstanding menopause-related clinical or basic science research.

Past recipients
Chrisandra L Shufelt, MS, MD, FACP, NCMP (2018)
Pauline M Maki, PhD (2017)
Steven R Goldstein, MD, FACOG, CCD, NCMP (2016)
JoAnn E Manson, MD, DrPH, NCMP (2015)
Hadine Joffe, MD MSc (2014)
James H Pickar, MD, FACOG (2013)
Frederick Naftolin, DPhil, MD (2012)
Nancy Fugate Woods, PhD, RN, FAAN (2011)
Howard N Hodis, MD (2010)

2. NAMS/Leon Speroff Outstanding Educator Award

This award will recognize a NAMS member’s excellence in menopause-related education of clinicians or the general public.

Past recipients
Mary Jane Minkin, MD, NCMP (2018)
Risa Kagan, MD, FACOG, CCD, NCMP (2017)
Stephanie S Faubion, MD, FACP, NCMP, IF (2016)
Michael R McClung, MD (2015)
Michelle P Warren, MD, NCMP (2014)
William A Hohman, MD, FACOG, NCMP (2013)
Cynthia A Stuenkel, MD, NCMP (2012)
James A Simon, MD, CCD, NCMP, FACOG (2011)
Marcie K Richardson, MD (2010)

3. NAMS/Ann Voda Community Service Award

This award will recognize a NAMS member's outstanding community service.

Past recipients
Nicole Jaff, PhD, NCMP (2018)
Monica M Christmas, MD, FACOG, NCMP (2017)
Patricia J Sulak, MD (2016)
Lois J McGuire, RN, WHNP, NCMP (2015)
Susan G Murrmann, MD (2013)
Joann H Kersh, MD (2012)
Elaine E Jolly, OC, MD, FRCS(C) (2011)
Peter F Schnatz, DO, FACOG, FACP, NCMP (2010)

4. NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) of the Year

This award will recognize one current NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) for outstanding work with his or her patients. Both members and nonmembers of the Society who hold the NCMP credential are eligible for consideration.

Past recipients
Barbara A Soltes, MD, NCMP (2018)
Ann L Steiner, MD, NCMP, FACOG (2017)
Diane T Pace, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC, NCMP, FAANP (2016)
Diana L Bitner, MD, NCMP (2015)
Mary K Clarkin, RN, MS, CNP, NCMP (2014)
Barbara J DePree, MD, NCMP (2013)
Terry M Gibbs, DO, NCMP (2012)
Lisa A Chism, DNP, APRN, NCMP, FAANP (2011)
Julia F Edelman, MD, NCMP (2010)
Wendy L Wolfman, MD, NCMP (2009)
Sally J Payette, RN, CME, NCMP (2008)

5. NAMS Media Award

This award will recognize a media professional whose body of work, through any media outlet (ie, print, television, radio, Internet), has served to expand the knowledge and understanding of menopause.

Past recipients
Vivien Brown, MDCM, CCFP, FCFP, NCMP—A Woman's Guide to Healthy Aging (2018)
Ms Kristen Monaco—MedPage Today (2017)
Ms Melinda Beck—The Wall Street Journal (2016)
Ms Pam Belluck—The New York Times (2015)
Barbara Dehn, RN, MS, NP, NCMP, FAANP—NurseBarb (2014)
Machelle M Seibel, MD—Health Rock®, My Menopause Magazine (2013)
Ms Tanya Rivero—ABC News (2011)
Ms Katie Kalvaitis—Endocrine Today (2010)
Ms Carolyn R Schatz—Harvard Women’s Health Watch (2009)
Mr Sean Swint—WebMD (2008)
Ms Peggy Northrop—MORE Magazine (2007)
Mr Martin Franks and Mr Matthew Margo—CBS Cares (2006)
Marla Shapiro, MDCM, CCFP, MHSc—Canada AM, Toronto Globe & Mail (2005)
Ms Tara Parker-Pope—The Wall Street Journal (2004)
Ms Sally Squires—The Washington Post (2003)
Toby Hanlon, EdD—Prevention (2002) 

Endowments and Scholarships

6. The NAMS/Irwin J Kerber Scholarship Endowment

This scholarship, provided through a generous endowment to the Society in 2011provides one medical resident working in women’s health with a 2020 NAMS membership and 2019 Annual Meeting registration. The resident must be a nonmember of the Society. A letter of recommendation from the candidate’s Program Director is required for all nominations.

Past recipients
Isa Ryan, MD (2018)
Ann Vale, MD (2017)
Not awarded in 2016
Clayton Brown, MD (2015)
Amy M Hernandez, MD (2014)
Chelsi M Jackson, MD (2013)
Myda Thi Luu, MD (2012)

7. NAMS/Fernand Labrie Vaginal and Sexual Health Award for Junior Investigators

This new endowment recognizes Dr. Fernand Labrie’s invaluable contributions to the field of women’s health. The endowment was established in Dr. Labrie’s honor with funding from Amag Pharmaceuticals. The endowment provides an annual scholarship to recognize one junior investigator’s research in the areas of developing and understanding women’s vaginal microbiomes, including therapies and products to improve vaginal and sexual health. Candidates must be junior investigators in postdoctoral fellowships, have active research grants and have recently achieved junior faculty status. Recipients are not required to be a NAMS member, but are required to submit a written commitment that they will attend the 2019 NAMS Annual Meeting in its entirety.

The recipient will receive:

  • An award of $5,000 to encourage future research
  • A special recognition plaque
  • Invitation to attend the NAMS Recognition Event at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, September 26, from 7:15 PM—8:15 PM.
  • Complimentary Annual Meeting Registration provided by NAMS (does not include any other meeting activities involving additional fees).

8. NAMS Annual Meeting Trainee Scholarship Fund

Funded by generous donations from the NAMS membership during 2018, one medical resident and one DNP-In-Training will be selected to attend the 2019 NAMS Annual Meeting on the basis of their interests in midlife women’s health issues. A letter of recommendation from the candidate's program director is also required by the due date of June 10, 2019.

The recipients will receive:

  • Travel reimbursement of up to $1,800 to attend the NAMS Annual Meeting, September 25-28, in Chicago, IL.
  • Invitation to attend the NAMS Recognition Event at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, September 26, from 7:15 PM—8:15 PM.
  • Complimentary Annual Meeting Registration (does not include any other meeting activities involving additional fees).


Copyright© 2019 |  Home  |  Privacy Policy  |   Site Map |


30100 Chagrin Blvd, Suite 210 - Pepper Pike, OH 44124, USA
Telephone: 440/442-7550 - Fax: 440/442-2660  - Email: info@menopause.org
Email a Friend
Please enter a valid email address.
255 character limit
Your friend will receive an e-mail invitation to view this page, but we will not store or share this e-mail address with outside parties.

To submit the email please enter the sum of 0 + 0.